Distinctive kinds of vegetarians

posted on 04 Sep 2013 17:54 by detail81emil

Many people think of vegetarians as one homogeneous team that simply does not eat meat. But nothing could be further from the truth. There are different classifications of vegetarians as varied as the reasons for going vegetarian in the first place.

A vegetarian is normally specified as someone who does not consume meat. But somebody who is vegetarian might conceivably eat milk items such as milk, eggs and cheese. A lacto ovo vegetarian does not eat meat, fish or chicken, but does consume eggs, milk or cheese. A lacto vegetarian consumes milk and cheese items, but does not eat eggs.

A vegan is somebody who does not eat any animal product or result, including dairy products food. They eat only veggies, fruits, grains, nuts and legumes.

There are remaining categories within the vegetarian area. Fruitarians, for example, eat just fruit.

All the above will eat cooked veggies, vegetables and fruits. There is also an expanding motion towards eating just raw or living foods. This based upon the assumption that cooking food processes most of the nutrients out of it, and to get all the nutritional value, vitamins and amino acids from food, it's best eaten raw, or juiced. If cooked at all, it should just be cooked to a little over 100 degrees, so the nutrients are still kept.

The even more limiting you become with your diet, however, the even more enlightened you should become to be sure you're getting all the necessary proteins and vitamins that you need to keep health, particularly muscle and heart wellness.

If you want information about Vegetarian Recipes click http://recipesforvegetarians.info/ or here